All data on Kalido is encrypted in storage (using AES-256) on your device and our servers, and transit (using TLS 1.2 or higher). You own your data and can download or delete it at any time. You can also choose which Networks on Kalido can see your data.
Kalido holds a UK Cyber Essentials Plus Certification.
Kalido is a privacy-led platform. Our core approach to privacy is centred on the principles of privacy by design.
We’re committed to applying these principles and continually improving to the extent that Kalido’s core model (a Network of Networks, where Location, Matching, and Profile data are key to basic functionality) allows. Kalido doesn’t advertise and we’re clear that any and all data belongs to the individual user or Network owner, not us.
When it comes to security and privacy, we care deeply, and are committed to continuous improvement. If you’d like to know more about our thinking on these topics, please drop us a note at firstname.lastname@example.org. Whether you want to learn more about our approach to data handling, access management, code reviews, OWASP risks, vulnerability management, encryption, vendor risk, disaster management, business continuity – or anything else – we’d be happy to chat.
No, this isn’t how Kalido makes money. Your data and personal information belongs to you; we won’t sell it on. However, if you belong to a private Network owned by an organisation, your data may be governed by a Joint Controllers Agreement. This means that the organisation may be able to export the data you share with them to update their own systems.
User Profiles: Any data on user Profiles is completely controlled by the user and they can choose which Networks they share their information with. As we give Kalido users this power over their own data, we encourage organisations to create a policy that asks users not to share their information or their organisation’s Network’s information externally.
Content-sharing: As with any content-sharing platform, it’s possible that users can share information externally – in the same way you can share, for example, Google Sheets outside your organisation. The onus is on you to police your content-sharing on Kalido and encourage best practice in your team.
Giving Kalido your Location means you can enjoy the advantages of the Nearby function. It’s also critical to get Matches for some types of Quests.
If you choose to share your Location with a Network, all members of that Network can see it. Blocked users can’t see your Location. Network Admins can remove Location visibility for all Network members if required.
No, Profile viewing is anonymous on Kalido.
Yes, you can block another user by visiting their Profile and scrolling down to ‘Block this user’. If you block them, they can’t access your Profile, call or message you. You can manage blocked users in your Profile Settings.
Yes, if you block them, they can’t access your Profile through any in-app mechanism.
If they’re members of Networks that require them to verify their email address to join then this is useful verification. If you’re really concerned, and you know the person in real life, you can call them to ask if they’re on Kalido and check what their Profile picture looks like.
You can block any user on Kalido if you have concerns. You can also leave Networks if you’re worried about multiple members of a Network.
To encourage a safe and respectful community, a stranger can only send a maximum of three messages to you at first, and these can’t include links or videos. If you don’t reply, they can no longer message you on Kalido.
Kalido automatically blocks a large range of terms in Chat which have a high probability of being associated with offensive, abusive, or harassing contexts. Kalido automatically scans images using an open-source filter and blocks images that are considered inappropriate.
This functionality is coming soon….in the meantime, if you suspect any problem behaviour or harassment, please contact email@example.com.
Creating and maintaining a safe community is of vital importance on Kalido, so we’ve made it easy to report any behaviour you’re concerned about.
Go to the user’s Profile and click ‘More’. Here you’ll find five categories to choose from.
In this instance, Kalido won’t contact the user but will recommend that you improve your experience by blocking them and leaving any Networks and Channels where they are an Admin.
Select which messages are spam and Kalido will investigate them. You can block the user that sent them. If we find that the user has broken our community guidelines, we’ll disable their account for a period of time or permanently, as appropriate.
This option lets you either report the user, or give descriptions and screenshots of your areas of concern. Kalido will then contact them with useful and relevant mental health resources.
Kalido will alert the user and ask them to change their password and secure their account.
If you’ve discovered an account that you think is impersonating you, or someone else, give us their details and we’ll be in touch to verify their identity.
Yes, we do. Please report any accounts of concern to firstname.lastname@example.org.