There is no requirement to share your phone book with Kalido. However, doing so makes it easier to find contacts to invite to your personal network. Sharing your phone book also lets you invite any of your contacts to join Kalido easily and conveniently, and makes it easier to recommend people not on Kalido yet. You own your contact data, so when you delete your account, your contact data is deleted along with it. And because we adhere to GDPR requirements, we’ll also automatically delete your phone book information if you don’t open Kalido for six months in a row. We will never send messages to your contacts without your permission. You can share or unshare your contact list on Kalido at any time. In Settings, use the ‘Permissions’ option to access this functionality.
You can message anyone in the networks you belong to, with the exception of Extended Network members. To protect everyone’s privacy, Extended Network members can only be contacted after you’ve requested an introduction from someone in your personal network. You’ll also be able to receive messages from the same people.
For the safety of the Kalido community, you can only send three messages in a row at first, and your initial messages must be longer than 10 characters. After that, the recipient must send you a message to continue the conversation. To the extent possible, Kalido also prevents the sending of abusive messages and inappropriate images.
Yes. Visit their profile, scroll to the bottom, and use the Block button. You can block users from the chat window (use the three dot menu at the top right).
Kalido takes your security very seriously. We have implemented strict community guidelines, and many features to prevent stalking and other unacceptable behaviour. Your safety is protected in the following ways:
In the rare event of bad behaviour, please report it to us. We’ll deal with it quite severely.
This problem is most likely due to your Gmail account automatically adding contacts to your phonebook. Here’s how to fix this:
Please note that this will prevent future random contacts from popping up, but you’ll have to manually delete any existing contacts that you don’t want.
Kalido uses your present location to find you the best matches, and to show you nearby contacts and network members, and to suggest nearby networks to you. However, for your safety, your location is only ever given as a general estimate, and never closer than 250m. Other network members will see your current country and city, or city and neighbourhood (whichever is most relevant based on where they are).
You can block a specific person from seeing your location by using the Block button at the bottom of their Profile. You can block an entire network from seeing your location by using the Set Preferences button for that network in the Networks tab. As a network administrator, you can also choose to have a network where members cannot share their location, using the Edit Network button when viewing a specific Network.
Kalido picks up your current location (as long as you’ve enabled background location sharing, or opened the app recently) to find great matches wherever you are now. This means youʼll find great matches that you can meet and work with, wherever in the world you may be.
All information you give Kalido is secured on your device and our servers using transparent database encryption, AES-256 and SHA2; while in transit using SSL; and on a call using SRTP.
No. We wonʼt share personally identifiable information with any third parties without your express permission.